Review: Risque Romp Rewarding, if you like that sort of thing…and I do–apparently.


This review is from: LOVE, LIES AND HIGH HEELS (SPOILED AND SASSY Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Love, Lies and High Heels
By: Debby Conrad
Genre: Humor/Romance

star 4Horse rancher, Luke Galloway, is sent by his business partner, Sam, to break the bad news to Sam’s millionaire daughter that her work-a-day-dad (whom she hasn’t seen in years) is dying and wants her to be at his bedside in his last days.

Despite the fact that she barely knows her horse rancher father, Rustina (Rusty) Paris drops everything and rushes to her father’s home in Kentucky with Luke—an annoying and sarcastic man she dislikes almost at first sight.

The big problem is—Sam is not dying. It’s a ploy on Sam’s part to bring together the two people he loves most in the world, Rusty and Luke Galloway. What follows is trouble and romance…and way more trouble.

I enjoyed this story.

It wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, to be honest. When I bought it, I was trying to fill a commitment to my reading club to read a book of humor. The blurb on this one mentioned humor and it looked interesting, so…I bought it.

There were moments that I found humorous. But, I wouldn’t call it a comedy. That’s not on the author, however. It’s on me for making an assumption.

Don’t misunderstand me, though. When I realized it a was (sexy) romance, it’s not like I threw it across the room and swore to never finish it. In fact, the opposite was true. I told myself I’d find another comedic book to read and I delved right into Loves, Lies and High Heels.

I will say, I don’t usually read romances. I used to, when I was in my twenties. However, I outgrew them. Especially when so many of them were found to be so formulaic. Love, Lies & High Heels wasn’t any different from the rest in that, I’m afraid. I knew almost from page one what would happen in every chapter. Like other romance stories, it too seemed to follow the generic formula.

HOWEVER, since it’s been (probably) 20 years since I’ve read a sexy romance, it was a great change of pace for me.

I DID truly enjoy it.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a lot of romance…with a little sex.

About angieabk

"I'd like to think of myself as a blended mix of Southern charm and humor. What I really am is a hot mess of sin and sass. Jesus loves me either way."

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s